Peach Crisp Ramekins

August is peach season in Seattle, when I buy way too many peaches.  Most of them have been getting turned into juice, but tonight I wanted to make dessert.  But I didn’t want to make too much dessert, because that’s why we’re fat.  The plan was to make two peaches into two ramekins of peach crisp, but the ramekins were too small to fit a whole peach, and I ended up making more topping than I needed, so I made three ramekins worth.

Ingredients (makes 3 ramekins)

  • Two ripe peaches, peeled and sliced
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 stick of butter
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • Pinch of salt
  • Dash of nutmeg
  • Dash of vanilla

Preparation

Place the peach slices in the ramekins, adding a dash of cinnamon.  Mix the remaining ingredients together, until you have a crumbly mixture.  Add the mixture to the ramekins.

Bake at 350° for 25-30 minutes.  Top with vanilla ice cream.

This recipe is adapted from The Odd Cupful’s Peach Crisp Recipe.

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peach Crisp Ramekins

  1. wehasaflavor says:

    Meg thought the oats made the topping a little too chewy or too heavy — she wanted more of a streusel than a structured topping.

    I used cold butter when I made the topping — would room temperature or closer-to-room temperature butter made mixing the topping easier?

    I either need bigger ramekins or to not overstuff them as much as I did, I think. Though the contents shrunk a bit as they cooled.

  2. Erin says:

    The oats can be a bit much, but I like it that way. Just use a smaller amount and add a bit more flour instead. You can also use other flours like whole wheat (but it will soak up more moisture). You could even toss the oats in a food processor to break it down first, if you still want to keep the nutty taste.

    I was curious about the chilled butter as well, so I looked it up:
    http://www.bonappetit.com/tipstools/tips/2008/10/why_you_should_use_chilled_butter
    Would it not matter as much for topping? Maybe that’s worth an experiment.

    The peaches here this year haven’t been so great, so I hope yours taste good! And thanks for giving me reference. 🙂

Leave a Reply

